Other glaucoma digital illustration

Other glaucoma Save

ICD-10 code: H40.8

Chapter: Diseases of the eye and adnexia

Understanding Other Glaucoma
Glaucoma is an eye disease that damages the optic nerve due to increased intraocular pressure. It is a leading cause of blindness worldwide. However, there are different types of glaucoma, and one of them is other glaucoma. In this article, we will discuss what other glaucoma is and how it differs from other types of glaucoma.

Other glaucoma refers to any type of glaucoma that does not fit into the two main categories of the disease: open-angle glaucoma and angle-closure glaucoma. Open-angle glaucoma is the most common type of glaucoma, and it occurs when the drainage angle between the iris and cornea is open, but the trabecular meshwork is partially blocked. On the other hand, angle-closure glaucoma occurs when the drainage angle is completely blocked, and the intraocular pressure rises rapidly.

Other glaucoma is a broad term that includes various types of glaucoma such as normal-tension glaucoma, pigmentary glaucoma, and pseudoexfoliation glaucoma. Normal-tension glaucoma is a type of open-angle glaucoma in which the intraocular pressure remains within the normal range, but the optic nerve is still damaged. Pigmentary glaucoma occurs when pigment granules from the iris block the trabecular meshwork and increase intraocular pressure. Pseudoexfoliation glaucoma is characterized by the accumulation of extracellular material in the trabecular meshwork, which obstructs aqueous humor outflow and raises intraocular pressure.

Other glaucoma is usually diagnosed through a comprehensive eye exam that includes measuring intraocular pressure, examining the optic nerve, and performing visual field tests. Treatment for other glaucoma depends on the type and severity of the disease. It may involve eye drops, laser surgery, or traditional surgery to lower intraocular pressure and prevent further damage to the optic nerve.

  1. If you are diagnosed with other glaucoma, it is essential to follow your ophthalmologist's treatment plan and attend regular follow-up appointments.
  2. Early detection and treatment of other glaucoma can help prevent vision loss and blindness.
  3. Regular eye exams are crucial for everyone, especially those over 40 years old or with a family history of glaucoma.

In conclusion, other glaucoma is a type of glaucoma that does not fit into the two main categories of the disease. It includes various types of glaucoma that can cause damage to the optic nerve and lead to vision loss if left untreated. If you have any concerns about your eye health, please consult an ophthalmologist for a comprehensive eye exam.

Diagnosis Codes for Other glaucoma | H40.8

Not Available