Other types of follicular lymphoma digital illustration

Other types of follicular lymphoma Save

ICD-10 code: C82.8

Chapter: Neoplasms

Other Types of Follicular Lymphoma

Follicular Lymphoma (FL) is a non-Hodgkin's lymphoma (NHL) that arises from B cells and usually presents with painless lymphadenopathy. It is the most common indolent lymphoma and makes up about 20-30% of all NHL cases. FL is typically categorized into three histologic grades based on the number of centroblasts present within the follicles. However, there are other types of FL that are worth exploring.

  1. Diffuse Follicular Lymphoma: Diffuse FL is a rare subtype of FL that is characterized by diffuse involvement of lymph nodes without any recognizable follicular pattern. It is considered a more aggressive form of FL, and patients with this subtype have a worse prognosis than those with classic FL.
  2. Transformed Follicular Lymphoma: Transformed FL occurs when a patient's FL transforms into a more aggressive lymphoma, usually diffuse large B-cell lymphoma (DLBCL). This transformation is associated with a worse prognosis and often requires more aggressive treatment.
  3. Primary Intestinal Follicular Lymphoma: Primary Intestinal FL is a rare subtype of FL that arises in the gastrointestinal tract. It is usually diagnosed in the small intestine and presents with symptoms such as abdominal pain, bloating, and diarrhea. Treatment typically involves surgery and chemotherapy.

It is important to note that these subtypes of FL are relatively rare, and most patients with FL will have classic FL. However, understanding the different subtypes of FL can help clinicians make more informed decisions about treatment options and prognosis.

If you or a loved one has been diagnosed with FL, it is important to work closely with your healthcare team to determine the best course of treatment based on the subtype of FL and individual patient factors.